Sports Achiever Of The Year Awards 2016

Sports Achiever of the year 2016

The last 12 months has been an exciting year with the Rio Olympics proving to be more exciting than anyone expected.

Sport MK approved 47% more Grants / Bursaries (64% money value) relative to our previous year; as well as our largest grant ever of £3000 (thanks to the National Hockey Foundation).

Sport MK continues to promote grass root sport to seek out and support our future Greg Rutherford’s and Deli Alli’s of Milton Keynes

This years awards:

Boys Under 18: James Kettle – Shenley Junior Squash Club

Girls Under 18: Fee Teng Liew – Vampires Badminton Club

Men Over 18: Chuko Cribb – Marshall MK Athletics Club

Women Over 18: Hannah Bond – Arabian School of Gymnastics

Masters Award for Men: John Skelton – Marshall MK Athletics Club

Masters Award for Women: Helen Marshall – Milton Keynes Rowing Club

Disabled Athlete Award: Tom Tancred – Marshall MK Athletics Club

Special School Award : White Spire School

Primary School Award: Orchard Academy

Secondary School Award: Denbigh School

Coach of the Year: Rob Wells

Team of the Year: Stony Stratford Junior Cricket Teams

Club of the Year: Orbit Milton Keynes Trampoline Club

Service To Sport Award: Douglas Yates – Willen Football Club

Volunteer of the Year: Paul Toombs – Marshall MK Athletics Club

Harry Hewitt Trophy: Zara Lachlan – MK BMX Racing Club

SportMK Bursary of the Year: Emma Goodwin – Bletchley Powerlifting Club

MK Community Foundation Sports Bursary of the Year: Joe Turney – KR Sport Kart Club

Sports Personality of the Year: Chris Clarke – who helped guide sprinter Libby Clegg to win Gold Medals at the Paralympics in Rio De Janiero.